March Favorites

I think there’s the possibility I purchased as much last month as I did in February, despite not having birthday money to spend (although admittedly a LOT of it was repeats of brands I discovered in Jan and Feb or products I needed more of). I’m sorry to say that, because of this, April is No-Buy until I finish paying off my credit card. I’m hoping that happens sooner than later so I can buy at least a couple of fun things, but I am resigning myself to the possibility that I won’t get any new makeup till May.

*falls into fetal position* *cries self to sleep* *eats all the chocolate*

NYX Cosmetics Soft Matte Lip Cream ($6)

Read my latest review post here, and you’ll know why these are #1 on my March favorites and will inevitably be on my 2015 favorites list as well. I received a $10 gift certificate code from the company when they accidentally failed to send me a tracking number for my order (it arrived in a very timely manner regardless, so let’s talk about great customer service, shall we), so I clearly had to buy as many as I could. It seems like the crowd favorite is Cannes, but I really love Istanbul. Also Ibiza. And let’s not forget Morocco. Or Tokyo.

Photo courtesy nyxcosmetics.com

Photo courtesy nyxcosmetics.com

byAlegory Acrylic Eye/Lip Liner Organizer ($21.99)

I’ve become somewhat addicted to makeup organizers ever since having so much personal makeup that I had to buy six stackable Sterilite containers at Target and running out of room. I have over 100 lip products, and, like … what? So when I saw this organizer on Instagram, specifically built for lip liners, eyeliners, NYX Jumbo Eye Pencils, ColourPop Lippie Stix, and the like, I swooned. The best part about this company is that you can purchase all their products on Amazon, and if you have Amazon Prime, you get free two-day shipping. That’s a dream right there, people. I have big plans to purchase several more of these organizers, plus the other styles that range from compacts to oversized lipsticks (yeah … they have an oversized lipstick organizer because they’re brilliant geniuses).

Photo courtesy byalegory.com

Photo courtesy byalegory.com

Sephora Show Curl XL Lash Curler – for Round Eyes ($17)

If you have “round” or deep set eyes (or if you are Asian, but I can understand why they wouldn’t want to market it in such a manner to avoid seeming racist), this eyelash curler is your best dream ever. It’s remarkably wide and flat, meaning you won’t be pinching your eyelids every morning. It’s also extremely sturdy and well-built and comes in three fun colors. I went with gold because who doesn’t love some good gold eye makeup accessories amirite. I’m assuming this is Sephora’s less expensive version of the much coveted Shu Uemera lash curler, and it’s easier to access since you can buy it in store. The only downside: it’s horrible for curling false lashes. I have two or three pairs of lashes that are a very odd shape now because I attempted it, so you’ll want to hold onto a regular one (you can buy one from elf cosmetics for a dollar) for that.

Photo courtesy sephora.com

Photo courtesy sephora.com

As I mentioned, the rest of my purchases during the month were basically repeats (I bought a LOT of Soft Matte Lip Creams, and I’m not ashamed), a few Gerard Cosmetics lipsticks, and a handful of House of Lashes falsies (my most favorite brand — anyone want a false lash review post??? LMK in the comments below!), so they were basically already favorites. 🙂

5 thoughts on “March Favorites

Leave a comment