Makeup Review: NYX Cosmetics Soft Matte Lip Cream

I know I wrote an entire review on all NYX lip products I’ve tried, but at the time of publication, I’d swatched my soft matte lip cream once for that post and hadn’t worn it on my face yet. And trust me when I say these lip creams deserve their own post anyhow.

Matte lipsticks and liquid lipsticks are all the rage right now — to be honest, I completely understand why. They have better coverage and lasting power than regular lipstick, and they’re extremely easy to work with. Plus their liquid formula keeps from tugging at your lips during application. While I like a glossy lip, especially for special occasions or on those days I’m rocking a super glowy, dewy look, matte has been my go-to for awhile now. And I used to hate matte finishes.

There are 22 different shades, all named after famous international cities, which is really cute and novel.

The Packaging
They are a pretty standard lipgloss style product, with a body that is the same shade as the lip cream inside (and they nail it pretty well, so no major surprises), and a black lid. The applicator is doefoot, which is my favorite type, as it provides a nice, precise application, especially along the lip line.

There’s nothing “pretty” about NYX packaging, but it’s not so plain that you want to pass by the products. It’s sturdy and well-made, which is rare for very inexpensive cosmetics.

Photo courtesy amazon.com

Photo courtesy amazon.com

The Price
Super reasonable, as per NYX Cosmetics. These babies will run you $6/apiece on their website, and $5.99 at Ulta (and they are eligible for the Ulta coupons, making them even cheaper). For the amount of product you get and the quality, this is a screaming deal, which is why I own nine of them.

Photo copyright Daisyhead by Mary 2015 - from left: Amsterdam, Stockholm, Tokyo, London, Istanbul, Addis Ababa, Ibiza, Cannes, and Morocco

Photo copyright Daisyhead by Mary 2015 – from left: Amsterdam, Stockholm, Tokyo, London, Istanbul, Addis Ababa, Ibiza, Cannes, and Morocco

The Product
These are aptly named because they are soft, they’re matte, and they’re lip creams. I don’t say that to be a smart ass — they’re kind of difficult to describe outside those parameters. They’re a liquid lipstick that has a quickdrying matte finish, but they’re super soft and creamy, so you don’t end up with dried out, chapped lips. DISCLAIMER: if you have extremely dry lips to begin with, you won’t be happy with the finished result. It’s important that you exfoliate and moisturize your lips on the daily, and especially before you use these. While they aren’t inherently drying, they are matte enough to interact poorly with already dry lips.

I’m addicted to these, and I think they’re some of the BEST lip products on the market. I’m sad it took me so long to try them out, but I’m making up for it in spades. The only real reason I don’t own all 22 is because they’re sold out nearly everywhere (including the NYX website). I started with Ibiza and then followed up with Istanbul, then Stockholm and Tokyo, and my latest order was of the remaining five. I love how the colors are so varied and unique — despite being concerned that Stockholm, London, and Cannes would all basically be the same color, I was pleased to find out how very wrong I was. Because of their liquid form, you can mix shades together to create your own or make a lovely matte ombre lip.

Despite not being marketed as longwear products, they last a REALLY long time. I don’t normally post “after” pictures, but I had to show you the longevity of these awesome lip creams.

Photo copyright Daisyhead by Mary 2015

Photo copyright Daisyhead by Mary 2015 – Morocco

This picture was taken after about five or six hours of wear, onion rings, a smoothie, some water, and a long nap. Of course touch-ups would be necessary, but any lip product that lasts this well through greasy food needs major props. I’ve since eaten dinner and some snacks, and it looks pretty much exactly the same, so it could be said that after 8 or 9 hours, you’ll need maybe one touch up depending on what you eat.

Final Verdict
Buy them all!!! Ulta often has a buy one, get one 50% off sale on NYX products, and when you combine that with their usual $3.50 off $10 purchase and any reward points you may have, you can really stock up (you know, provided they actually have any to purchase in the first place). *rolls eyes* But even if you purchase straight from their website, you only have to purchase $25 worth of product to be eligible for free shipping, although they’re currently sold out of their most popular shades. Hopefully they restock soon so I can finish out my set!

Even if you’re not a huge fan of matte finishes, I’d recommend purchasing just one to try it out. You might end up surprised at how much you love them! Click here to purchase your own, or visit your local drugstore or Ulta!

3 thoughts on “Makeup Review: NYX Cosmetics Soft Matte Lip Cream

  1. Pingback: March Favorites | My Trip Down the Beauty Aisle

Leave a comment